My boxset picks of 2012

Hmmm hopefully it will be warm enough soon to watch boxsets al fresco

Long winter evenings are made all the more enjoyable by a great boxset. I am only a recent devotee of boxsets having been introduced to them through The Wire which ate into my sleeping hours with its cliffhanger episodes.

But over the last few months I have been loving The West Wing, I know it’s old but I had never seen any of it and it is so clever, sharp and well written. In fact fiction was mirroring real life as I watched episodes featuring the NewHampshire caucuses only to then watch them on the news after. It was created by Aaron Sorkin who also wrote The Social Network among other movies.  In total there are seven seasons and 22 episodes per season so it is a big investment of time but for me a great investment. I finished it last night and am now feeling a mixture of emotions saying goodbye to the end of this era.

So in a bid to stave off withdrawal pangs I have started compiling a list of what boxsets to watch next. This is based on personal recommendations from friends, colleagues and strangers alike and will be making their way into my sitting room hopefully in the next few months.

Would love to hear of any more?!

My 2012 Boxset Picks

The Killing: The Danish one, not the American one I am told by well informed sources. There are stark differences beyond just subtitles including different endings and the Danish is apparently far superior. It starts with a murder investigation led by a smart and tough female detective, Sarah Lund. Each episode is a day in the case. Addiction rating: 8/10

Borgen: From the same makers of the above Killing, this is again Danish but a political drama instead. Following on from the international success of The Killing, the producers penned this and it’s apparently The West Wing in Danish. Addiction rating: 8/10

Homeland: Described as an American psychological thriller series which focuses on a CIA agent (played by Claire Danes) investigating a prisoner who she believes has turned to the other side and now is a threat to national security. Addiction rating: 7/10

Downton Abbey: British period drama series which seems to appeal to viewers across every generation. Not usually my type of series but bought season 1 & 2 for my mum for her upcoming birthday so might look to borrow it after. Also Shirley McLaine is now set to join the cast for the third season. Addiction rating: 7/10

Treme: This has been on my list for a while now. Set in New Orleans post Hurricane Katrina, it follows residents trying to rebuild their lives. It’s currently on its fourth and final season. Addiction rating: 8/10

Breaking Bad: Only heard about this yesterday so it’s fresh off the press and a bit of wild card but I am assured it’s very watchable.  It follows an underachieving chemistry genius turned high school chemistry teacher who when informed he has terminal cancer, turns to using his expertise in chemistry to provide a legacy for his family… by producing the world’s highest quality crystal meth. Addiction rating: 8/10 (no pun intended)

So these are my picks to get me over the bereavement of finishing West Wing, would love to hear more if you have them!

2 thoughts on “My boxset picks of 2012

  1. I’ve watched the first episode of Borgen and it sucks you in till you wonder it’s 2am and you have to get up for work in 5 hours.. There’s a raft of Scandinavian drama coming to the BBC.
    What the zeitgeist Nathan Barleys are purring most about is “The Bridge”; not finished it’s Danish run yet, it’s scheduled for BBC later this year and supposedly is more addictive than a vial of crack in a Rolo yoghurt.

Leave a Reply

