Gift ideas for those you love

I am currently on the hunt for gift ideas. You would think I would currently be earning a well deserved hiatus following the Christmas present season but I have several birthdays coming up including my mum and dad and some friends and I even have to think of something small for Valentine’s Day seeing as it is our first married – phew here are some of the thoughts going through my head.

The Great Food Boxset by Penguin Classics £140: Collecting together the twenty Great Food titles, from Elizabeth David’s A Taste of the Sun to MFK Fisher’s Love in a Dish, this is a boxed collection of the series. Great for any foodies or aspiring chefs.

Downton Abbey: Season 1 & 2 Boxset £24.97 on Amazon: I haven’t seen this yet myself but have heard really good things and think it would be right up my mum’s street. Plus the added benefit that I could borrow it after 🙂

Rough Trade Album of the Month: A must for music lovers. London based Rough Trade choose the best album each month and post it out to you so you get to keep up to speed on what is happening on the music scene. Available for 6 or 12 months as a gift membership.

Kindle: This is controversial as if you read my previous post on books, you will know I am an old fashioned girl who loves the feel of a book in my hand. Still I think my dad would love this so it’s on the list. I remain unconverted.

Diary, planner or calendar: The good thing about this time of the year is that it’s still not too late to give someone a diary ir calendar. I find art galleries the best places for inspiration like The National Gallery of Ireland or if you want something different check out MOMA in NY for calendars below with a difference.

If you’re a dab hand in the kitchen you could make some jam or pickle and wrap it up below for a personalised touch.

Or if you’re feeling adventurous and like the look of the necklace below, you’ll be glad to hear it’s easy to make and the tutorial is here.

Leave a Reply

