The many faces of coconut oil

Coconut oil was recommended to me by a nutritionist as a substitute for cooking oils so you can basically fry or cook anything in coconut oil instead of sunflower, olive or fat. I bought a big tub in a health food shop for about €3 but found when I cooked with it that I could still taste traces of coconut through my food which wasn’t so great. So it sat in my cupboard for another few months.

Then I read online about how good it is for skin especially dry skin. The weather has been up, down and around in the last few weeks and my skin is certainly getting dry as a result. So I tested the coconut oil and well….it really works, really!

Just one go and that was it, dry skin was banished. It is quite hard in the tub so you have to warm it between your hands and it quickly becomes an oil but for anyone looking for a cheap and natural moisturiser you should try it. It patricularly works well for psoriasis, dermatitis, eczema and other skin conditions too.

Apparently it is also great as a hair oil for healthy locks, as an anti stressing massage oil, it can also be used as a healing agent on minor scrapes and bumps and it aids digestion and metabolism when incorporated into diets in smoothies and salad dressings.

So whether you fry or apply, the tubs last forever and are great value, it’s my skincare pick of the week.

One thought on “The many faces of coconut oil

Leave a Reply

